The Lost Love

Fury blazed in Raena’s eyes as they hurriedly flashed across the words that appeared on the screen. “What on earth?!” she thought. This is the third time she has seen something like this. Dumbfounded, she could not stop herself from reading the words. Beyond damage control, she made up her mind to confront her boyfriend about this.

“What on earth do you think you’re doing?” she yelled as she stalked out of her house, storming towards Alex who was out in the backyard watering the plants. “You honestly believe I would forgive you this time?” she asked, outraged and continued, “Who is that woman sending you those messages on the computer?”

Alex, thinking that it was another one of his girlfriend’s mood swings, carried on watering the plants. Sensing Raena was dead serious, he stopped what he was doing and turned around to face her and asked, “Why are you reading my personal messages?”

Raena, shell-shocked, replied, “We had an understanding, Alex. Have you forgotten that? This is the third time, Alex. Enough is enough. I want a break-up.”

Alex took a tentative step towards her. Dread filled his stomach and he whispered, “I’m sorry, baby. It means absolutely nothing. She was just another girl. I love you, you know that.”

Raena covered the space between them and stabbed her index finger at his chest. “This is exactly the man I know that you are. You’re a man fueled by passion and lies. I loved your passion, but I abhor your filthy lies. God, I was so naive to think that you’d change. You need help, Alex. I can’t let this slide by.”

Two minutes ticked by and she said all the while stabbing his chest with her finger. “Do you think I can’t do what you are doing? We’re grown adults. I am terribly hurt. I loved you once; forgave you twice; this is the third and final time. I’ve had enough, Alex. It’s over!”

With that declaration she turned to storm her way back to the house, but Alex swiftly stepped forward and grabbed her face with his hand. He held her cheeks together with his hand lightly, but his voice was determined. “We’re adults, baby. You belong to me. Me only. You. Belong. To. Me. Only,” he spoke each word calmly calmly, yet in a voice that was laced with fury.

Raena closed her eyes. She took a deep breath and pushed him away from her. “You are not frightening me. We’re over,” she cried, all the while standing rooted to the ground. She opened my eyes and stared into his eyes. “I was stupid enough to have believed that before.” She lifted her left hand, reached for the ring around her ring finger and twisted it off her finger and threw it at him.

“I do not belong to you, Alex. Not now. Not ever!” she said firmly.

Feeling numb to her core, Raena turned and walked off. She wiped away her tears and with a broken heart and will, she made a vow never to shed another tear for her lost love.

 

Leave a Reply

