From the Cradle to the Grave

Always yearning for more
I get lost in my fantasies
With untainted memories
Of a life gone by
Days become weeks
Weeks become months
Months become years
Yet I still follow
Times when I light up
Ashes to Ashes
Dust to dust
Another nail in my coffin
As I burn the last vestige
Of memories
Of times gone by
Misled youth
Everything I feel
Is an illusion
A self-deluded fantasy
Fragments of my past
I try in vain
To piece a snapshot
Of you engrained
In my soul
Let me detoxify
On a clean slate
Of a hug that was
Never given
Of a kiss that was
Never stolen
Yet I carry on
Armed with a banner
That screams
The torture of living
A life set on repeat
An awful thing it is
To be able to
Smile when all
I want to do
Is shed tears
Of a time
That would never
Repeat itself bearing
My tender feelings
Lost in your words
Your serpent tongue
Lashed out at my
Very being of
This banality of life
Once I turn to you
Only to retreat into
The darkest shadows
Of my soul you
Set on fire
A raging inferno
Of a melting pot
Of churning emotions
The want yearning
The need craving
The desire overwhelming
You I crave
With a warped sense
Of reality lived
Between the lines
Of love and hate
Calm my crushed soul
Bearing its crest
Of sin and shame
Your naivete is staggering
So I realised
Goes hand in hand
With my heartfelt words
Left alone with intent
Left stranded homeless
Find a home
I shall do
With or without you
Twisted words ensnared
By the twisted actions
Of your abrasive nature
There is a fine line
Between being bad
And being who
You really are
I do not know
Why I wrote this
Disjointed string of words
Perhaps it is
To fill the void
That you left behind
Of the carnage
That you abandoned
You came when
I needed someone
But your true nature
Is unrivalled with
Its twisted paths
Paths that lead me
Down a reckless path
That does not
Reveal its nature
Blind be Justice
With her blindfolded
There can never be sight
Unless you see what
You do not
Want to see
Open the eyes
Of your heart
To a whole new world
Where reality and illusion
Mingle hand in hand
Through this walk
Of shame that
You have put me on
As I light this last vestige
Of days gone by
Burning silent memories
Of words gone unsaid
This secret I will keep
From the cradle
To the grave.

 

Leave a Reply

